Areas are designated green, orange or red zones by the CHO based on public health advice. Restrictions apply for different zones. 

You can apply for a permit online at or by calling the Coronavirus hotline on 1800 675 398

Based on current health advice, here are the different zones:

Each adult needs their own permit. 

If you reach the border without a valid Victorian Border Crossing Permit, you will be turned away at the border and face a possible fine.

Those living in our border communities in New South Wales can continue to access the 'border bubble' using their driver's license or other photo ID to prove their residential address.

For those travelling by road, there are four designated Victoria Police checkpoints for those people with a Victorian Border Permit:

  • Mildura - Sturt Hwy A20
  • Echuca - Northern Hwy B75
  • Wodonga - Hume Fwy High Street (split into sites A & B)
  • Genoa - Princes Hwy at Mallacoota turnoff

Real-time traffic conditions are available at or via the VicTraffic mobile app to help you plan your journey.

South Australia border restrictions

Travellers who have been in Greater Melbourne from 4 February 2021 will not be allowed to enter South Australia unless they are an essential traveller or have an exemption. Please visit the Covid-19 website to ensure you are permitted to travel. 

All travellers entering South Australia, regardless of where they are travelling from, are required to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration at least seven days before travelling.

Queensland border restrictions

From 1am Saturday 13 February 2021, anyone entering Queensland who has been anywhere in Victoria from Friday 5 February 2021 will need to apply for a border pass